NISA Announces Inaugural Independent Cup Regions, Format

Published Jul 1, 2020

The New York Cosmos will participate in the inaugural NISA Independent Cup, which was formally announced today by the National Independent Soccer Association.

The competition consists of a total of 15 clubs spilt into four regional groups and will kick off on July 11. There will be a regional champion from each group.

“We’re really looking forward to this competition,” said Cosmos COO Erik Stover. “We love the independent spirit of the teams and it’s a great opportunity for us to test our level heading into the regular season."

The Cosmos have been placed in the Mid-Atlantic region along with New Amsterdam FC, Maryland Bobcats FC, and FC Baltimore Christos. New Amsterdam FC is the league’s most recent expansion side, while Maryland Bobcats FC and FC Baltimore Christos are both amateur clubs in the National Premier Soccer League.

The schedule of the Independent Cup, along with broadcast information, will be announced at a later date. All the Mid-Atlantic region games will be played in Maryland behind closed doors. 

The Cosmos participation in the Independent Cup marks their return to action for the first time since late October of 2019, where they competed in the NPSL Members Cup.

All clubs participating will adhere to NISA's Return to Play Protocol, which was created and established with top medical professionals and in accordance with the CDC guidelines to ensure the health and safety of all clubs' players, staffs and personnel.

Full details on the NISA Independent Cup can be found at